Nina's Textile Trail 2

– Textiles 1: Mixed Media for Textiles

MMT 4 – Stage 4 – Reflection

Leave a comment

Building on my printing  skills has been a stimulating experience resulting in a better understanding of materials and improved quality of outcome.

I have explored a variety of items for printing and made great advances in the use of oil based inks, printing presses, the application, mixing and burnishing of inks.

Demonstration of technical and visual skills

Lots of samples and careful observation has resulted in good technical skills in mono and collatype printing with oil based inks and a printing press.  An understanding of the effects of different papers used both damp and dry has also been gained.   A variety of materials have been used effectively throughout the exercises.  Visual awareness, design and compositional skills have been demonstrated.

Quality of outcome

This has been a thorough exploration into mono and collatype printing, backed with research of artists and their work, craft books, online videos and attendance at practical workshops and a local print studio. Throughout the learning process, adjustments to technique have been made to build on the knowledge gained.  I have been discerning in my choices, presentation of work, conceptualisation of thoughts and communication of ideas.

Demonstration of Creativity

There is evidence of experimentation and risk taking and some development of personal voice.

Context

Coursework has been based on a variety of research and developed with considered self-reflection and critical thinking.

 

Printing encourages me to be more playful and inventive and improved skills and knowledge will definitely inform my practice and form part of my sketchbook development.

The most exciting area for further progression is the use of stitch combined with other materials to add to collatype plates.

 

Referring back to my formative feedback for Assignment 3 and relating it to this assignment

Assignment:

Demonstration of Technical and Visual Skills, Quality of Outcome, Demonstration of Creativity

I think I have continued to be adventurous and pushed myself.

Drawing:

Demonstration of Technical and Visual Skills, Quality of Outcome, Demonstration of Creativity

I am disappointed not to have drawn more outside the minimum required for the printing exercises.

Acutely aware that drawing is a vital component of this course and my progress as an artist, not just to deepen understanding of my work and that of others, but to develop visual skills and original work, I feel I have reached a point where my mental block around drawing will hamper my progress if I don’t find a way to make it a habit.  In a workshop/classroom situation I can force myself, albeit tentatively, but alone as a distance learner, the motivation to draw eludes me.

Research:

Context, reflective thinking, critical thinking, analysis

As much of the research this time was into the process of printing, I think my analytical skills into the work of others are probably on a level with the last assignment but that the extended research into areas I choose to develop in part 5 will enable me to develop them further.

Learning Logs or Blogs/Critical essays

Context, reflective thinking, critical thinking, analysis

I have attempted to add reflection about my prints and made links to my own work and research material.

I would like my feedback for this assignment by video please.

AIMS for Part 5

To find a local group or class to draw with to develop my confidence and skills.

To be adventurous and thorough in developing ideas to reach an informed and creative final piece.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

