Nina's Textile Trail 2

– Textiles 1: Mixed Media for Textiles

MMT3 Formative Feedback

Leave a comment

Formative Feedback  on Assignment three of Mixed Media for Textiles with my tutor, Rebecca Fairley, was by video on 13th July, 2016.  The following is my summary of our conversation.

I was pleased to hear she thought I had been adventurous, pushed myself and she had a sense I had enjoyed the process.  My workbook was a good balance of samples, drawings, photographs and research.  I had been thorough in all elements, used a wide range of materials and produced some exciting samples.

It was suggested that I include the cushion-like cast when sending items for assessment and the vessels cast in stitched bags should be put together as a series, clearly identified as such for assessment, grouped and photographed now against a white background.

Where it may not be possible to send samples for assessment, my photographs illustrate the work well.

Making bags/vessels and using them to cast from was a strong idea to develop.

We discussed the feelings of excitement when a sample is developing well and the importance of recognising that something visceral is happening and go with it.

It was suggested that I keep pushing and exploring the way I use drawing.  Comment on what I have learnt about the samples from the drawing and add comments to reflect what they tell me about the sample’s surface, materials or any ideas that arise from the intense looking.  Draw in exhibitions and other artists’ work.  A continuous blind line drawing would be a good method of looking at Paolozzi’s work in which case, there’s no need to be sensitive about how the drawing reflects his work, its all about the looking.

Continue to develop my learning log by including more depth in the reflection of my drawings and work of others. Keep my learning log professional, be open about practice but not personal matters.

Provide more analysis of drawings and explanation of action – don’t assume an assessor will know why certain photographs are grouped together or what I may have learnt by arranging them that way.

There is evidence that I’m pushing my analysis and have an understanding of the use of metaphor.  I should continue to develop this area.

Remember to push ideas, keep exploring and developing.

I need not have a sketchbook of drawings, a collection on difference sizes of lining paper would be an alternative.  In response to this I explained that having a tactile ‘book’ combining drawings, research and found images feeds my creativity whereas a rolled up collection may not.

Tutor’s Formative feedback

Student name        Nina O’Connor Student number                     513049
Course/Unit            Textiles 1: Mixed Media for Textiles Assignment number            Three
Type of tutorial Video

Feedback on assignment

Demonstration of technical and Visual Skills, Quality of Outcome, Demonstration of Creativity

Nina this is a lively exciting body of work.  You have been adventurous and pushed yourself, making brave decisions that have paid off. You have experimented with the materials to produce some dynamic and curious surfaces.  I particularly like the series of “bags” you have made and then used to cast intriguing shapes.  This could be worth exploring at a later date.   

Drawing

Demonstration of technical and Visual Skills, Demonstration of Creativity

Your drawings are loose and exploratory; there is sense you are now beginning to understand the value of using drawing to deepen your understanding of the samples.  Keep exploring the way you use drawing to look at your own work and the work of others.

Research

Context, reflective thinking, critical thinking, analysis  

From this assignment I can see you are developing your analytical skills and using them to develop your work.

Learning Logs or Blogs/Critical essays

Context, reflective thinking, critical thinking, analysis  

Keep your Learning Log professional.  I suggest you add some reflection about your drawings and make links to your own work and your research material at the same time. Reflect on this feedback in your learning log.

 

Please inform me of how you would like your feedback for the next assignment.   Written or video/audio

Well done Nina, I look forward to your next assignment.

Tutor name Rebecca Fairley
Date 13th July 2016
Next assignment due 5th September 2016

Reflection

Feedback on assignment

I am delighted with the positive feedback.  During the assignment, I felt more confident and thought there had been a consolidation of my learning.  Its such a pleasure to hear my samples referred to as a ‘lively exciting body of work’.  In the early days of my studies with the OCA,  I felt ill-equipped to meet the challenges and now I feel more capable of working towards a degree and excited about my future practice.   I am enjoying the style of this course, which has encouraged me to be more adventurous and increased my confidence.

Drawing

I feel so much happier drawing and understand the value.  I see it more as a form of recording or note-taking, rather than a test of my ability to produce a detailed and beautifully finished picture of the whole. However, I do appreciate that drawing needs to be more habitual for me and that conscious and regular exploration will develop my skills.

Research

My analytical skills are developing but as with drawing, a conscious effort needs to be maintained to improve my expertise and remember to use metaphor.

Learning Log

I understand the need to keep my Learning log professional and will make a few adjustments, add reflection, make links to my own work and research material.

Thank you to my tutor for the constructive feedback.

I would like video feedback for my next assignment.

 

Leave a Reply

