Nina's Textile Trail 2

– Textiles 1: Mixed Media for Textiles

Getting to grips with the course

2 Comments

Its taking me a while to get going.  I’m inclined to read every suggested piece of literature, source most of the books on the reading list, read other students blogs and feedback, to the point of being a little overwhelmed.

I have been working on Exercise 4 – Scratching, there seems to be so much to think about to produce considered work.  I’ve got a collection of scratched samples yet they lack something.

I feel as though I have good idea of what’s required with this course: To research contemporary artists and work that inspires me, comment in an informed way, link it to my own creativity in the preparation of samples starting my playful exploration in line with the course manual, explore other materials, draw and/or photograph the work, reflect and comment and maybe refine the technique and produce another sample in the light of my findings.  Present it clearly, blog everything and make sure its all referenced appropriately and no copyright breached.  Phew! Hopefully, it will become second nature to me with practice and perseverance.

 

2 thoughts on “Getting to grips with the course

  1. Glad to have found your blog, Nina, and looking forward to following you through this course. I’m only half way through ATV but already looking longingly at this one. This seems a great summary of what’s required too. Have fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

